The time is now.

My sister has a magnet on her refrigerator that says, “Leap, and the net will appear.”
I am here, ready to leap into my next life challenge.
Tomorrow I head off to begin my 230 hour Yoga Teacher Training. This has been a dream of mine for many years! Actually, the first time that I tried yoga, at home, following a suggested routine in a book, I had a moment where I thought that there could be something in my future with this. Many years and two children later, I am at the point where I can finally explore this opportunity.

My training actually started a couple months ago, as I began my daily yoga practice and tackled the many reading assignments that were required. During that time, emotions of all kinds were swirling in my head.
Am I truly ready? “YES!”
This was a hard one…I wonder, am I the only trainee who isn’t able to do Headstand yet?
Instead of beating myself up about it, I admit I have a fear, and I practice the pre-requisites and make myself stronger and ready to do it. I will be the understanding teacher who recognizes that this is ok, and knows how to help other people like me. I won’t be out there showing off random feats of yoga asana.

There is ever-present guilt in my head too. Guilt that I am not 100% present for my children or my husband right now. Guilt that I should get out there and help bring in some money. I wondered how much money teaching yoga will actually bring in. Probably not much, at first! IMG_20140621_142917I’m also really EXCITED that I can do this work for myself. After trying out various options in China to do some work, it was VERY clear that the environment did not support me working. That was ok. I took a year and relaxed a bit and took care of myself and my family.
This training is not just physical, but extremely mental and spiritual. I am taking a close look at myself and my faults. Sometime during the past decade, something inside myself shifted. I’m not sure what happened, or when, but I am really looking forward to getting that piece of me back. I’m going to do the work to make that happen.
Daily meditation practice is also a requirement in this process. What a wonderful thing! I think that meditation is more grounding than a yoga practice.

My blog will be evolving this year, morphing into more about yoga and being a Mama at the same time.
I hope that you will join me on this journey!

Leave a Reply

